Deposition of Edmund Arley

Citation: TCD, 1641 Depositions Project, online transcript January 1970
[] accessed Monday 25th of September 2017 05:22 PM

Dublin Core

Date: 1642-05-24
Identifier: 812062r085


1641 Deposition Item Type Metadata

County: Carlow & Killkenny
Deposition Type: Dublin Original
Nature of Deposition: Robbery, Words
Commissioners: John Watson, William Aldrich
Deposition Transcription:

fol. 62r

Edmund Arley late of Coolmannagh in the parish of Haroldstown Barony of Ravilly and County of Catherlagh weaver duly sworne and examined deposeth that about the 18th of November last The rebells in the County of Wicklow neare adjoyneing and some in the County of Catherlagh being up in Armes in great numbers against our soveraigne Lord the king this deponent with divers others his Neighbours was inforced (thay haveing nor Armes nor numbers able to make any resistance) to fly to Dublin & to leaveing behynd him, Hey and Corne in Haggard worth fifteen powndes ten shillings household goods loomes garden stuffe poultry and fuell worth seaven eight <23 li. 10 s.> pounds, but whoe had the said goods this deponent cannot certaynl{y} affirme This deponent further saith that comeing toward Dublin with his wife and children and what goods he could in haste take with him, he left with <A> Thomas Moore of Walterstowne in the County of Catherlagh farmer: since gone into Rebellion butter and cheese worth fifty shillings and further this deponent had violently taken from him on the land of Lodowick Ponten by (as this deponent was informed) by some of the said Lodowickes Tenants, fower horses worth eight pounds and chests and Clouths worth three pounds and afterwards upon the way from mountaynes neer Baltinglasse and Rossallogh in the County of Wicklow had taken from him young cattle worth three pounds and afterwards haveing brought some cattle worth five pounds to Simonscourt neare Dublin this d the said cattle were taken away by some of the servants of and at the appoyntment of Mr Ashpoole of Pourescourt in the County of Dublin as this Deponent was credibly informed, and this deponent further sayth that he had at Simonscourt aforesaid taken from him goods worth forty shillings so that this deponent in all hath by reason of this rebellion susteyned the loses {of} forty seaven pounds sterl: <This deponent further saith that the wife of Thomas Moore of Walterstowne aforsaid tould this deponent that they had directions from the priests (meaning the Romish priests) for the first eight dayes to burne Dublin {a}nd pillage all the English and after that eight dayes they should kill the all the English but what went to masse whoe should have their goods agayne he further deposeth that John Rowles of Ladystowne in the County was first robbed by the Rebells and after turned to masse, had his goods agayne {re}stored him and went with them whome he saw at the said Moores house> and further this deponent by reason of his flight no{t} being long among the rebells th[ey] this deponent cannot say
Edmund [mark] Arley his marke
Jurat May 24to 1642 coram
Joh Watson
William Aldrich

Deponent Fullname: Edmund Arley
Deponent Gender: Male
Deponent Occupation: Weaver
Deponent County of Residence: Carlow
Mentioned Non-Deponent Fullnames: Thomas Moore, Lodowick Ponten, Mr Ashpoole, John Rowles
Mentioned Non-Deponent Roles: Rebel, Mentioned, Mentioned, Apostate