Letter from Luke Toole

Collection: Other Depositions

Citation: TCD, 1641 Depositions Project, online transcript January 1970
[http://1641.tcd.ie/deposition.php?depID?=811127r094] accessed Monday 25th of September 2017 01:34 PM

Dublin Core

Date: 1641-12-08
Identifier: 811127r094


1641 Deposition Item Type Metadata

County: Wicklow
Deposition Type: Letter
Deposition Transcription:

fol. 127r

Sir I vnderstande that the reporte of oure destruction and ouertroe a wednesday last was very pleasante and welcome vnto yow and that the very noise of your mirth and shoutinge was harde in the seuerall townes adioininge vnto yow that night, alsoe when yow harde of the comeinge of the armie from Dublin into theise parts that yow weare makinge of prouition bruinge and killinge of beeues; your nephewe Chambre after he gott a faier quarter and beinge soe familier amongst oure armie wente to Carnowe to offend vs as much as he can, where I hope he wilbe vsed acordinge his deserte, the quarter that my Captaines gaue yow in sufferinge yow to departe ffreely and to take awaye your goods I doe alone but for your residence or abode there any longer I will not suffer Therfore departe and goe amongst your frends withoute delay, for he that woulde reioyce at my hurte shall not dwele soe neere my doore ffearinge yow woulde offende as your nephewe did; soe hopinge this to be a faier warneinge of which yow maye take notice at your perill Dated this 8th of december 1641
Luc: Toolle

fol. 127v


This letter sent to the other Rebells

A letter from Luke Toole
to Joab Ward

Deponent Fullname: Luc: Toolle
Deponent Gender: Male
Deponent County of Residence: Wicklow
Mentioned Non-Deponent Fullnames: Joab Ward, Chambre *
Mentioned Non-Deponent Roles: Victim, Victim