Deposition of John Right

Citation: TCD, 1641 Depositions Project, online transcript January 1970
[] accessed Monday 25th of September 2017 12:04 PM

Dublin Core

Date: 1642-01-05
Identifier: 835158r205


1641 Deposition Item Type Metadata

County: Fermanagh
Deposition Type: Dublin Original
Nature of Deposition: Robbery, Stripping, Words
Commissioners: John Watson, Randall Adams
Deposition Transcription:

fol. 158r

p. 885
John Right Butcher and In=keeper an English protestant late of Newtoene alias Castle Coole in the parish of Newtowne Barony of Castle Coole and County of Fermannagh being duly sworne deposeth and sayth that on monday the 25th of October <a> last Rory macguire with about 1500 others whose names this deponent knoweth not tooke from him violently in Newtowne aforesaid out of his this deponents dwelling house in money eight pounds in household=goods, weareing clothes, foure beeves ready killed, beer for his in=keeping and other household provision, thirty stone or thereabouts of Tallow to the valew of fifty pounds, the benefit of one lease of an house lately built by himselfe with an holmstead thereto belonging worth sixteen pounds, in all he lost to the worth of seaventy foure pounds. This deponenth further sayth that Rory macguire showed to him and others whome he then robbed a parchment or paper with a great seal affixed which he affirmed to be a warrant from the kings Majestie for what he did: and he further deposeth that when he an his neighbours then robbed complayned of their miserable condicion being robbed and stripped the said Rory replyed that if they were not content with what was done they should see worse within a few dayes.

Jurat Jan: 5to 1641 Coram nobis
Randall: Adams: Joh Watson:

fol. 158v

p. 886

John Wright Com.
Jur 12o Jan: 1641
Int w


Deponent Fullname: John Right
Deponent Gender: Male
Deponent Occupation: Butcher
Deponent County of Residence: Fermanagh
Mentioned Non-Deponent Fullnames: Rory macguire
Mentioned Non-Deponent Roles: Rebel