Deposition of Walter Ash

Citation: TCD, 1641 Depositions Project, online transcript January 1970
[] accessed Monday 25th of September 2017 01:41 PM

Dublin Core

Date: 1642-06-20
Identifier: 811132r097


1641 Deposition Item Type Metadata

County: Wicklow
Deposition Type: Dublin Original
Nature of Deposition: Robbery
Commissioners: Henry Brereton, John Watson, William Aldrich
Deposition Transcription:

fol. 132r

Walter Ash of Dublin sadler late servant vnto John Pue of Nuragh in the Countie of Wickloe esquire being dulie sworne and examined sadeposeth and saith That vpon the seauenteenth or eighteenth day of November last one <A> Teig oge Byrne of Ballenvalla in the Countie of Wickloe gent came to the towne and lands of Newragh in the said Countie accompanied with one Dowlin mc Cahir Byrne of Tobberviller and about sixteen or seauenteen Rebells more whose names this deponent doth not knowe, And [ re ] tooke away with them of the goods of the said John Pue & dispoiled him of about seauen score Cowes young & ould <B> and six hundred English sheepe of which number James mc Cahir Byrne had for his parte 99 of the said sheepe which Cowes and sheepe were worth at least ffower hundred and threescore pounds, And this deponent saith and deposeth That he about a weeke after that the said Teig oge Byrne tooke away the said Cattle this deponent heareing that he the said Teig oge was at Wickloe, he went vnto him thither to see if he could gett his said Masters Cattle or any parte thereof And he saw there then in Rebellion Luke Toole of Castlekevin The said <C> Teig oge Byrne, Barnaby Toole sonn and heire to the said Luke Toole Edmond Byrne of the Downe Walter Boy Byrne of Garygolan Barnaby Brien mc Callogh Byrne of Knockdriet Edmond Byrne of Killoghter John mc ffelim Byrne sonn to Brien mc ffelim Byrne Edmond Quin priest, And about three hundred more whose names he doth not Knowe, who were armed, some with guns, some with pikes some with pitchforkes some with swords & some with dartes and skeanes And this deponent vpon sight of such a number there, he returned back to Nuragh & from thence to came to Dublin where he continued ever since
Walter Ashe
{Depos}ed Junij 2o 1642 Coram
Hen Brereton
Joh Watson
Will: Aldrich

fol. 132v


{ }
Johannis Pue Jur 2o
Junij 1642
Cert for Mr Pue
Intr 17 No


Deponent Fullname: Walter Ash
Deponent Gender: Male
Deponent Occupation: Saddler
Deponent County of Residence: Wicklow
Mentioned Non-Deponent Fullnames: John Pue, Teig oge Byrne, James mc Cahir Byrne, Dowlin mc Cahir Byrne, Luke Toole, Barnaby Toole, Edmond Byrne, Walter Boy Byrne, Brien mc Callogh Byrne, Edmond Byrne, John mc ffelim Byrne, Brien mc ffelim Byrne, Edmond Quin
Mentioned Non-Deponent Roles: Victim, Rebel, Rebel, Rebel, Rebel, Rebel, Rebel, Rebel, Rebel, Rebel, Rebel, Rebel, Rebel